Experience Hosting – my NEW collaboration with Airbnb


By: Jim Bamboulis

I’m excited to announce a new collaboration with one of the most reputable and recognizable companies on the planet, Airbnb. But first, the backstory.

In 2016, Airbnb launched a concept called Trips, which goes way beyond just booking a place to stay. This is more experiential travel. Now you can also sign up for and participate in unique experiences while on your trip. That could be anything from marathon running in Kenya, producing your own music video in LA or going on a Greektown Food Tour in Toronto. More on that in a second.

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 2.31.00 PM

These experiences are created and designed by locals who are eager to show travelers their own recommendations all while making travel a bit more unique while having the chance to meet more people. Travellers now have the chance to do more stuff that they love doing while on a trip. 

I stumbled across Airbnb’s Experiences in January. I was excited at the chance of implementing an idea that I’ve had for several years. As a food photographer and writer in Toronto, I’m often traveling around the city and eating at some of the newest and best restaurants in town and frequently asked where to eat in Toronto. On top of that, I speak fluent Greek and grew up around Greektown. For those reasons, I wanted to create a food tour that gave both locals and visitors to Toronto a chance to experience the food scene the way I do, in a neighbourhood that I love.

So, I’m grateful to announce that I am one of the 10 original Experience Hosts in Toronto for Airbnb. I’m hosting a Greektown Food Tour – a tour that you can sign up for right now!

Financial Post.pngI’ll take you to my local favourites, where the food is incredible and the desserts are amazing. You’ll experience a side of Toronto’s Greektown you may not have experienced before and learn a thing or two along the way. Sign up and let’s eat already!

SIGN UP HERE for my Airbnb Greektown Food Tour!

IMG_-thsz0i.jpg


About me

IMG-20161106-WA0017.jpgI spent 15 years in the broadcast media world before starting up Travel Mammal, a site dedicated to travel, food and cultural experiences.

Travel Mammal isn’t about the selfie or checking things off a list. It’s about experiencing both the journey and the destination. To breathe, learn and really absorb what’s around you, in the moment and experiencing in a way that is both memorable and meaningful.

Cheers and happy travels!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Fantastic! Way to represent T.O.

    1. travelmammal says:

      Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

